news
11.10.2016
Why is boat length measured in feet?

Why is boat length measured in feet?
You can often hear that someone owns a yacht that is 30 feet long. But why not just say that the size of my yacht is 9.14 meters? This is much clearer. Why is it always feet that are used to indicate the length of boats, and not the meters familiar to us?

Read more…
news
17.01.2016
The inner world of binoculars

Two parallel, side by side, with the same structure telescopes, become binoculars, thanks to the so-called bridge that connects them.

Read more…
news
07.06.2014
Training at the German yachting school Hanseatishe Yachtschule Glucksburg

It all started with a crazy idea of a friend to go to study at the German yachting school Hanseatishe Yachtschule Glucksburg (DHH) in the city of Glucksburg. Spending time on the cold May Baltic Sea instead of the supposed wallowing in the warm sands of Egypt was not part of my plans, but the desire to escape from the noisy metropolis and everyday routine did its job, and I began to pack my suitcases.

Read more…
news
20.01.2013
8 points from the stern

The behavior of the vessel during strong gusts of wind from the stern depends on the strength of the waves and the type of yacht. Therefore, it is impossible to give universal recommendations on how to behave in such situations. However, you can use the experience of others to be prepared for any course of events at sea.

Read more…
news
20.01.2013
Good Maritime Practice Short Course: Anchor Surveying

Regardless of whether we are shooting under an engine or under sails, we will definitely turn on the engine if we choose the anchor end (chain) with an electric capstan. In addition, moving at a low speed to the anchor, we facilitate the work of the capstan. In any case, the anchor maneuver consists of a series of sequential standard operations (Fig. 1).

Read more…
news
19.01.2013
Rescue on a raft

In addition to equipment, which includes, for example, a floating anchor, oars, repair materials and a pump, liferafts should also be equipped with appropriate accessories in accordance with the characteristics of the water area. In accordance with ISO 9650 (Type I or II), the liferaft must be equipped with a double bottom and particularly bright external lighting.

Read more…
news
18.01.2013
Rodkicker in detail

Rodkicker

Kicker has a big advantage over simple guys: thanks to an integrated spring or even a full-fledged gas shock absorber, the boom with a kicker can not only be pulled down, but also serve as a support.

Read more…
news
07.01.2013
Genoa twists

With the help of the Genoese staysail twist devices, it is possible not only to remove most of the sail panel in the shortest possible time, but, to some extent, also effectively reef it. By pulling on the reef seasons, on the forehead, you can change the position of the sail profile, into which the luff is folded.

Read more…
news
05.04.2012
Inner World: Head Stoppers

The halyard stoppers must withstand a pull of hundreds of kilograms, and the tackle moving inside must be maintained so that its shell does not break and the core slides in the clamp.

Read more…

news
11.10.2016
Почему длина лодок измеряется в футах?

Почему длина лодок измеряется в футах?
Вы часто можете услышать, что у кого-то есть яхта длиной в 30 футов. Но почему не сказать проще, что размер моей яхты 9,14 м? Это же куда более понятнее. Почем всегда для указания длины лодок используют именно футы, а не привычные для нас метры?

Читать далее…
news
17.01.2016
Внутренний мир бинокля

Две параллельные, рядом находящиеся, с одинаковым строением подзорные трубы, становятся биноклем, благодаря так называемому мостику, который их связывает.

Читать далее…
news
07.06.2014
Обучение в немецкой школе яхтинга Hanseatishe Yachtschule Glucksburg

Все началось с сумасшедшей идеи подруги поехать учиться в немецкую школу яхтинга Hanseatishe Yachtschule Glucksburg (DHH) в городе Глюксбург. Провести время на холодном майском Балтийском море вместо предполагаемого валяния на теплых песках Египта никак не входило в мои планы, но желание вырваться из шумного мегаполиса и повседневной рутины сделало свое дело, и я стала собирать чемоданы.

Читать далее…
news
20.01.2013
8 баллов с кормы

Поведение судна при мощных порывах ветра с кормы зависит от силы волн и типа яхты. Поэтому нельзя дать универсальные рекомендации, как вести себя в таких ситуациях. Однако можно воспользоваться опытом других, чтобы быть готовым к любому ходу событий на море.

Читать далее…
news
20.01.2013
Краткий курс хорошей морской практики: съемка с якоря

Вне зависимости от того, производим ли мы съемку под двигателем или под парусами, мы обязательно включаем двигатель, если выбираем якорный конец (цепь) электрическим шпилем. Кроме того, двигаясь малым ходом к якорю, мы облегчаем работу шпилю. В любом случае маневр по съемке с якоря состоит из ряда последовательных стандартных операций (рис. 1).

Читать далее…
news
19.01.2013
Спасение на плоту

Кроме того оборудования, которое включает в себя, например, плавучий якорь, весла, ремонтные материалы и насос, спасательные плоты должны быть оборудованы также в соответствии с особенностями акватории соответствующими аксессуарами. В соответствии со Стандартом ISO 9650 (тип I или II) в спасательном плоту должны быть предусмотрены двойное дно и особо яркое внешнее освещение.

Читать далее…
news
18.01.2013
Rodkicker в деталях

Rodkicker

Kicker по сравнению с простыми оттяжками имеет большое преимущество: благодаря интегрированной пружине или даже полноценному газовому амортизатору, гик с кикером может быть не только натянут вниз, но и служить подпоркой.

Читать далее…
news
07.01.2013
Устройства закрутки генуи

При помощи устройств закрутки генуэзского стакселя можно не только убрать большую часть полотнища паруса в кратчайшие сроки, но, и в некоторой степени, также эффективно его зарифить. Потянув за риф-сезни, на фока-штаге можно изменить положение профиля паруса, в который складывается передняя шкаторина.

Читать далее…
news
05.04.2012
Внутренний мир: Фаловые стопоры

Фаловые стопоры должны выдерживать тягу в сотни килограммов, а двигающаяся внутри снасть должна сохраняться так, чтобы ее оболочка не рвалась, и сердцевина скользила в зажиме.

Читать далее…